UNESCO Network


The activities of the UNESCO Chair include research and teaching as well as advisory services for the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

The UNESCO Chair collaborates with several RWTH Aachen institutes in order to optimally fulfill its responsibilities. In this context, the collaborative research field Cultural Heritage is of particular importance, which is conducted at the Faculty of Architecture and is concerned with securing cultural heritage. Several projects at the UNESCO Chair involve companies and institutions outside of RWTH Aachen in their activities.

The academic supervision and support of projects in urban and cultural landscapes requires the close collaboration with various institutions and partners. At the national level, a major partner is the German UNESCO Commission. Internationally, our major partners include the UNESCO World Heritage Center and its advisory bodies ICOMOS, ICCROM, and IUCN.

Furthermore, there is a very active academic exchange between the Chair and other UNESCO Chairs, universities, and research institutions. The third level of cooperation includes the UNESCO World Heritage sites and their site management.



Partner Universities

  • GU Tech
  • Université Notre-Dame du Kasayi

Collaborative Research Field Cultural Heritage

  • Lehrstuhl für Landschaftsarchitektur, Prof. Dr. Frank Lohrberg,
  • Lehr-und Forschungsgebiet für Kunstgeschichte, Prof. Dr. Alexander Markschies
  • Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Denkmalpflege, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Raabe
  • Lehrstuhl Tragkonstruktionen, Prof. Dr. Martin Trautz
  • Lehrstuhl für Baugeschichte, Prof. Dr. Anke Naujukat
  • Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Architekturtheorie, Prof. Axel Sowa
  • Lehrstuhl Planungstheorie, Prof. Dr. Klaus Selle
  • Juniorprofessur Sicherung Kulturellen Erbes, Prof. Dr. Carola Neugebauer

International Institutes and Experts

  • Prof. Dr. Marie-Theres Albert, Brandenburgische Technische Universität, Chair in World Heritage Studies (WHS)
  • Prof. Dr. sc. Ph.D. Dipl-Ing. Arch.Bohdan Tscherkes, National University Lvivska Politechnika, Ukraine
  • Ass. Prof. Dr. Ana Pereira Roders, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Turner, ehem. UNESCO Chair in Urban Design and Conservation at Bezalel
  • Dr. Peter Strasser, Donau Universität Krems, Österreich
  • Prof. Dr. Moawiyah Ibrahim, Jordanian Representative to the World Heritage Committee
  • Dipl.-Ing. hua Lin, Sichuan Fine Arts Institute University City Shapingba, Chongqing, China
  • Dr. Andreas Hofer, TU Wien, Lehrstuhl für Städtebau und Entwerfen, Österreich
  • Ass. Prof. Yonca Erkan, Kadir Has University, Istanbul, Türkei
  • Dr. Birgitta Ringbeck, Deutsche Vertreterin im Welterbekomitee
  • Laurie Neale, Europa Nostra, www.europanostra.org
  • Dr. Susanne von der Heide, HimalAsia Foundation

World Heritage Sites

  • Prof. Dr. Halil Onur, Istanbul Cultural and Natural Sites Management Directorate
  • Christine Koretzky, Hansestadt Lübeck
  • Patricia Alberth, Stadt Bamberg / Zentrum Welterbe Bamberg
  • Chloé Campo-de Montauzon, Association des Biens Francais Patrimoine Mondial, c/o Mission Val de Loire
  • Paula Cordeira, Welterbe Grand Place
  • Matthias Ripp, Stadt Regensburg / Planungs- und Baureferat
  • Dr. Peter Henrich, Deutsche Limeskommission
  • Frau Dr. Krücken, Stadt Aachen, Denkmalpflege
  • Hermann Marth, Stiftung Zollverein
  • Mag.Ing. Rudolf Zunke, Magistratsdirektion der Stadt Wien / Gruppe Planung
  • Michael Schimek, Geschäftsführer Arbeitskreis Wachau
  • Rita Johansen, Site Coordinator / Managing Director Vegaoyan UNESCO


iva architektur
scheuvens + wachten